I'm Schizoaffective, Doubly-defective, My paranoia, Is hypersensitive, My judgement impaired, My madness infective, I'm unassertive, All my decisions, Are subjective, And all my solutions, Are retrospective, Against all evidence Of my delusions, I stay protective. All of my senses, Are damn deceptive, They blend illusions, Till they're indistinctive. My brain projects, A faulty perspective. I'm socially awkward, And apprehensive. In whatever conflict, I am defensive. My long-term memory, Is unretentive. I try to learn, But I'm unreceptive, And unperceptive. I even tried writing, But I'm not descriptive. All my narratives, Are repetitive. All my portrayals, Are not depective.

***

There's something wrong, With my cognition, So I wrote this song, About my condition. The rhymes are strong, But I'm no musician. If you sing along, You're in a similar position.

***

I'm sedentary, I'm mostly inactive, When I hit catatonia, I'm unproductive, Nonadaptive. When my mood rises, I find it eruptive. That makes me disruptive, And maybe destructive, Or even corruptive, Only then my brain, Becomes conductive. My neurons light up, Finally conjunctive, Though wired wrong, They're superconductive, And that's even worse, That's just obstructive.

***

There's something strong, With my cognition, So I wrote this song, About my condition. The rhymes are wrong, But I'm no musician. If you feel you belong, You're in a similar position.

***

I only wish I could rewire, The brain-cells that misfire, Kill the ones that conspire, Maybe then I'll escape this mire, In case I can't, I'll just enquire, Can you help? Are you for hire? Will you become my own supplier? Nonexistence, my desire, This rotten mush about to expire, It's time for this brain to finally retire, So bring the brimstone, bring the fire, All those things that I require, Can you help me light up this pyre? And turn to dust this thorny brier? Maybe it'll end, or I'll garner godly ire, Or maybe I'll reincarnate higher, On the scale from bad to dire

***

I just wrote this song, About my condition, I told you what's wrong, With my cognition, The facts are strong, From my position. Please help me along, If you heard my transmission.

#poetry #songwriting #depressing #schizoaffective